If you've driven by our house in the last few days, you may have noticed green fumes leaking out from the doors and windows. Finally we are on the road to recovery but this has been one butt-kicking bug! Thursday at daycare, Maddox only ate half of all of his bottles and napped more than usual. Thursday night, he vomited but seemed to feel okay. He went to daycare as usual on Friday but didn't eat well and slept for FIVE hours while he was there. At that point, I knew something was up so I picked him up a couple of hours early and headed straight to his pediatrician's office. As soon as we got settled in the waiting room, I picked him up out of the carrier and he vomited all over me again (it was EVERYWHERE!). After looking him over, we were sent home with instructions to give him pedialyte in place of milk for the next 12 hrs and to come back at 9am on Saturday for a follow-up visit (apparently, vomiting in infants under 6 months is a big deal). That night, he threw up again so we were back in the office Saturday morning. I'll spare you all of the details but basically we spent all day Saturday getting tests, x-rays, and ultrasounds to rule out all of the worst-case scenarios. I had a feeling all along that it was just a stomach virus (even though none of the kids at daycare had it, he must've picked it up somewhere) and remained pretty calm. No sense in getting all worked up over what I was pretty sure was nothing. As I thought, all of the tests came back normal and it was diagnosed as a "nasty stomach virus" and we were told to go home and Lysol our entire house because its highly contagious. We followed the instructions but on Sunday, Brandon and I both went from feeling fine to feeling like we were knocking on death's door within an hour. Again, I'll spare you the details but neither of us could even keep down water and had chills, very bad body aches, stomach pains, headaches, etc. It was awful. Definitely the worst virus I've ever had. We were down for about 36 hrs (and are still feeling pretty weak). Maddox got to spend the day/night with Mamaw and Papaw last night and even though we missed him, I know they all had fun and Brandon and I were able to try to sleep it off. Brandon is still home sick from work today but hopefully we'll all be back on our normal schedule of work and daycare tomorrow. Unfortunately, Bethany also caught the bug but hopefully she's feeling a bit better today. Maddox definitely didn't mean to get his sweet "Aunt" Bethany sick (but loved all of the kisses and cuddles she gave him Saturday night). So far, Kristi, Cortney, and Ali have dodged the bug (they were also loving on him Saturday). Let's just hope it stays that way because we don't want anyone else to fall victim to this nasty, nasty virus!
As soon as I'm fully recovered, I'll post more details on how much Maddox is changing and growing. We're still happy as can be with daycare and they've even managed to get him on some sort of napping schedule. He's almost sitting up on his own (can sit for a little while but is a little unsteady) and will be 5 months old in just a few days. The past 5 months have flown by but have been better than we could have ever imagined!