Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Wow, it's been a long time!

I can't believe how long it's been since I've posted in this blog...I'lll try to catch up!

Let's see, life has been one big (and FUN) adventure in the Garrett house over the last several months!  In July, we found out that Maddox is going to be a BIG BROTHER! So exciting!! Baby Garrett is due on 3/23/12.  We found out last Friday that it's another sweet little boy and we couldn't be happier.

Maddox turned 2 last Saturday...it's so hard to believe that my baby is already two years old.  Where does the time go?!?  He's so much fun and a complete chatterbox.  I'll upload some new pictures soon!

Monday, January 24, 2011

Can't keep up!

Life has been so hectic lately (what's new) and I feel like I can't keep up! 

In the last few weeks, we have had a major snowstorm (which put a huge roadblock in my running plan), Brandon had a work trip to Chicago, I had a work trip to Delaware, Brandon had another work trip to Raleigh...you get the point (and my next work trip is less than 2 weeks away...sigh).  I'm having a tough time finding "the balance" but hope it'll come soon.  I feel like every day is a race to the finish line and I live for the time I get to spend with Maddox on the weekends (because the time we actually get to see him through the week is so limited).  I can definitely understand how maintaining sanity, a household, and two full-time careers can be too much to handle.  Right now, Brandon and I are each working at least 50 hours/week and are like two ships passing in the night (haha...love that cheesy analogy).  Obviously, we feel so blessed to have two wonderful careers but at some point, I just want to run away with my family for a weekend that doesn't involve laptops, meetings, blackberries, email, or any contact with the outside world.

As for the running...well, I haven't been running as planned.  There have been a few sessions here and there but honestly, I am too much of a wimp to run in temps that are below freezing.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Frustrating

Of course, leave it to ME to get sick at the beginning of my C25k program.  How annoying.  I ran on Monday, Tuesday was 'rest day,' and today was supposed to be running day.  Well, kinda hard to do when I'm laid up on the couch with a headache, body aches, stuffy nose, and generally feeling like poo.  Hopefully I'll feel well enough tomorrow to run.  Until then, it's me + Nyquil!

In other news, Brandon leaves for a business trip to Chicago on Sunday and will return on Tuesday.  He's excited because he rarely (aka never) gets to travel for work.  I'm also heading back to Wilmington, DE for a few days at the beginning of February.  It's my most frequent work destination but I've never been in the middle of winter before! Brrr!

Well, I'm heading downstairs for some chicken noodle soup and then will return to my perch on the couch for the remainder of the night.

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Couch to 5k (C25k) - Day 1

Ouch, ouch, and ouch!

I completed day 1, week 1 of the C25k training yesterday and my muscles are SORE this morning (but in a good way)!  Like I mentioned in yesterday's post, one of my goals in 2011 is to train for and run a 5k (hopefully by Spring).  In addition to that main goal, there are a few smaller things I'd like to get out of it:

1. I'd like to enjoy running.  I'm seeking the 'runner's high' that people claim to get.  Right now, I look at it like a task, not as something that I actually want to do.
2. I want to tone up a bit before bathing suit season.  I'm not necessarily interested in changing the number on the scale, although I wouldn't really mind if it decreased by 10 lbs.
3. Stress relief...pure & simple.
4. I'd like the pure satisfaction that comes from setting and accomplishing a goal.  That alone will outweigh any of the other benefits.

For training, I'm using an app that I downloaded onto my iPhone (technology nerd alert!) called C25k.  Basically, you start the program when you are ready for your run and it will tell you when to run/walk/jog/stretch, etc.  I can play music in the background and the coach's voice will come on whenever it's time to do something.

As far as 'equipment' goes, I'm not allowing myself to buy new running shoes, new earbuds (that'll actually stay in my ears), a pedometer/heartrate monitor, etc. until I've made it through a couple weeks of the program.  I think the thought of new running shoes will be pretty decent motivation!  Also, I realized yesterday that running around my neighborhood isn't going to cut it because I get too bored.  I'm going to seek out new running territory this weekend.

I think that's enough C25k talk for one day. Today is a 'day of rest' according to the program but I'll keep blogging about this journey in the coming days/weeks.

Monday, January 3, 2011

2011 = Big Changes

Happy new year!  It's been a long time since I've blogged so I'm way overdue for an update.

First things first, big changes are coming to the blog.  Up until this point, the blog has been focused on Maddox and our journey as a new family of 3.  I've often found myself wanting to blog but not necessarily about toddlerhood, parenting, etc. and I haven't had anywhere to do that.  I've decided to turn this into more of a personal blog and will start blogging about anything that comes to mind (scary, I know).  I may blog about parenting, life as a working mom, fashion, cooking, work, ANYTHING!  I'm pretty excited about this change and already have a handful of posts in mind.

Did you make any new year's resolutions?  I rarely make resolutions because I always break them and then make myself feel guilty.  For the past few years, I've been so focused on everyone else...

2007...focused on planning a wedding
2008...figuring out how to be 1/2 of a married couple
2009...focused on being pregnant/preparing for motherhood
2010...110% focused on my new role as 'mommy'

While I'm still (obviously) focused on Maddox, I'm going to spend a little more time on *me* in 2011.  For example, one of my goals this year is to run a 5k.  I'm taking part in a 9 week training program called Couch to 5k that will prepare me and am really excited about it.  Now that I've announced this on the blog, all of you can hold me accountable (and make me feel guilty if I get lazy!). 

I also want to learn something.  I know that's broad but I love learning and feel like I've become stale.  Whether it's by taking some sort of class or doing a self-study, I will learn something new in 2011.  I suppose the first step would be to determine WHAT it is I want to learn.

Of course, I can't blog without giving you all a Maddox update.  He's 15 months now and is a bundle of precious, giggling energy.  His vocabulary is quite impressive (too many words to keep up with) and he's turning into such a big boy!  He's such a copycat these days and keeps me laughing nonstop.