If there's one thing I've learned in my 6 1/2 short weeks of being a parent, it's that babies are consistently inconsistent. For the most part, Maddox is a good sleeper. On average, he goes to bed after his 9-9:30pm bottle and then wakes up every three hours or so to eat throughout the night before waking up for good around 5-6am. He usually takes a morning nap for an hour or so around 8am and a longer afternoon nap for two to three hours around lunchtime. Well, on Sunday night I thought I'd won the lottery...he slept for FIVE hours (and this was after taking a couple of long naps during the day on Sunday). Well, I should have known that my gloating would come back to bite me and it did in a big way last night. I put him in bed a little late (we had dinner with friends and started our nightly routine a bit later than usual) around 11pm. He grunted, groaned, and moaned for a while before finally going to sleep around midnight. At 2am, my little grunter was wide awake and demanding to be fed and refused to go back to sleep after that. I got him to sleep for another hour between 4-5am but other than that, he and I have pulled an all-nighter. I definitely agree with others that say that sleep deprivation is the hardest part of being a new parent. Personally, when I'm sleep deprived, I feel irritated, grouchy (sorry Brandon...), and always feel like I'm coming down with something (even though I'm not b/c I always feel fine once I get a little shut-eye). Anyways, here I sit watching my little angel sleep soundly in his swing after a night of no sleep. I should be trying to catch a cat nap while he sleeps but since I've already chugged a huge cup of coffee, that won't be happening. Instead, I'll sit here and bore you all with my pointless 6:30am blog and then will peruse my usual websites (Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, Amazon, The Bump, etc) until he wakes up.
I will blog later tonight or tomorrow about mine and Lisa's rendezvous with Jazzercise later today. We're on our way back to our fabulous pre-pregnancy selves, one Jazzercise class at a time! This should be entertaining...
Have a lovely (and hopefully well-rested) day!
Crystal (aka The Zombie with permanent undereye circles that is considering intravenously injecting coffee to stay awake today)
No comments:
Post a Comment