Saturday, April 10, 2010

6 months old!

Maddox is 6 months old! His 6 month appointment was on Friday and they confirmed what we already knew...he's perfect! :) Actually, he's had a tough time with the shots this time and has been running a fever of 100-102 all day today. Unfortunately, there's nothing we can do besides give him some extra cuddles and Tylenol. Poor fella. Hopefully he'll be better tomorrow in time for a visit from Mamaw & Papaw!

He weighed 17 lb 12 oz and is 26 in long (or should I say tall?). His height and weight have evened out a bit into the 50th percentile. He has quite a big noggin though and his head circumfrence is measuring in the 95th percentile.


At 6 months, here's what he's up to...

-Sitting on his own (has been doing this since about 5 months)
-When he's on his tummy, he is 'scooting' by pushing with his feet. I think this is the first attempt at trying to crawl. He isn't there yet but he's figured out that he can move around.
-Constant "talking" and babbling. I just wish I could figure out what he's trying to tell me!
-Eating fruit/oatmeal or yogurt for breakfast and veggies for dinner. He hated how watery stage 1 foods were but loves stage 2 and 3. We'll probably add a third meal of solids for lunch in the next month or so.
-Drinking about 5-6 oz of formula every 3 hours.
-He LOVES puffs...can't get enough of them!
-He's quite fascinated with drinking from a sippy cup and is doing great at holding it on his own. The doctor said it was fine for him to have a couple ounces of water or juice (but we aren't planning on giving him juice at all- we'll stick to water) at a time.
-He's still dazzling us with his toothless grin...no TEEFS yet!
-We're learning SIGN LANGUAGE! This is very exciting for us and we can't wait until he gives us the first sign back (typically around 9-10 months). Starting with just a few signs but will add more with time. Right now, we're signing these words/phrases: mommy, daddy, I love you, more, finished, milk, diaper, eat, thank you, sleep.

We leave on Friday for our first road trip to Pittsburgh as a family of 3 + Coco. We're hoping the trip will be relaxing and stress-free!

No comments:

Post a Comment